Yoyo dyeing discussion thread

Hello everyone, I’m goog and I’ve been dying yoyos for a couple of years. Something I noticed from the beginning was that there aren’t really any good tutorials or resources to get started with dyeing your own yoyos, and I had to sort of figure it out along the way. Since then, some videos and stuff have come out that are either useless, way over-complicating things, or way over-simplifying the process resulting in a waste of time or a vibey yoyo.

I’ve spent years figuring out a process and wanted to know if people would be interested in a full comprehensive tutorial for dyeing yoyos. I can also answer questions anybody has right now.

Here are some examples of my work

15 Likes

what yoyos did you use? they look beautiful.

2 Likes

Did you happen to look here…

1 Like

Those guides are outdated, as you don’t need to mess around with acetone at all to dye polycarbonate yoyos. It’s way over complicating things.
@jhb8426

4 Likes

What yoyos did you use?

First picture is the 2Sick pawn, pictures 2 and 3 are the sf plstc, and picture 4 is the yoyofactory poly edge.

4 Likes

they look so beautiful. great work.

2 Likes

@Goog is the master at dying. :rofl:
He also does the dye jobs for SF for his dyed PLSTC releases.

4 Likes

whoa, really?

1 Like

Yeah I’m not quite sure why I’m flexing when it’s not my work haha but these are some of his beautiful works.

5 Likes

do you own any yoyos that he did?

1 Like

unfortunately I haven’t yet.
I either need to buy another Motive from a certain SF website which I already own to be able to get one of the Goog dyed SF plstc.
Or there is one for trade on a different book of face bst group but paying $20 to ship a yoyo selling for $15 is a bit…
I did seriously contemplate it and it’s the soda dye colour that I wanted. But I am eyeing for the right opportunity as I’m sure there will be a good opportunity to do so soon instead of rushing.