Please help, trying to pick out a good looping throw

To start with, I’m not an expert at looping but I’m pretty good one handed. I’m wanting to learn 2 hand play. I currently have a raider ex that just broke on me. I’m looking for a good replacement. I was never happy with the raider, but it’s what i learned on and have used over the years. I’ve been looking and I’ve seen the loop 720, match and the hornet all mentioned a bit. I’m looking for something super responsive, something that won’t sleep mid loop. Can anyone point me in the right direction? Thanks in advance!

1 Like

Duncan Hornet, remove one of the metal washers, get a decent string like HKMT Arata or Sochi. It’ll only sleep when you want it to, ie. you’ll have to be very deliberate to make it do so. When looping you’ll have a huge window of throwing where it won’t sleep. But! You can make it sleep in a forward pass, for example, to do Around the World.

I have a bunch of responsive yoyos of varying price. For primarily looping, the Hornet beats them all. If you want something that just doesn’t sleep at all get a fixed axle and over twist the string to make it too tight to sleep.

4 Likes

The Loop 720 is the easiest set up, maintenance, and most reliable looper I have. It’s not my fave but it’s the workhorse of my collection. I can’t recommend it enough. The stock setup with red spacers is great for learning. There is a ton of customization you can do but you don’t need to worry about any of that starting off.

4 Likes

Also, welcome. Don’t let the name fool you, you can join us in this thread any day:

And here are some resources:

I especially recommend Shu Takada’s tutorials. They’ve been the most helpful for me in improving my form.

2 Likes

If you are loop curious and can wait a few weeks my pay it forward has some hornets and match you could try for a few weeks then pass to the next person.

2 Likes