Lightweight small yoyos for Street performance

Hey all, I am brand new to yoyoing. Had one as a child and it was fun but I didn’t learn very many tricks. Now gearing up for my retirement years and getting back to the simple things in life.

I plan to travel the world with one smallish backpack. During my travels, where it is legal, or a non-issue, I plan to do a little bit of yoyo Street Performance AKA busking.

Both ounces and total size are very important.

Living out of one small backpack for a year or two years requires you to make very precise decisions and focus on ultra lightweight and compact gear.

So for street performing, highly technical tricks are not necessary, but pizzazz and tricks that will be awe inspiring to people who don’t yo-yo is what I’ll be doing. I won’t be doing any 4A because well I don’t need any lawsuits from whacking a foreigner in the head!!

With this in mind:
general flashy tricks,
lightweight and
smaller,
versatile
Preferably under about 35 US bucks per yo-yo

I like the idea of being able to do 2A and 3A tricks but I’m not sure I’m coordinated enough LOL. And again no off string tricks while traveling.

I’d like to only carry two, maybe three yo-yos at most – if that’s reasonable. and like I said I’m a complete beginner.

Right now I have a velocity and and N8 that I am learning on.

Many thanks for any advice you all have on a two or three yoyo set that I could travel with.

8 Likes

A simple good YoYo at that price point I would suggest the California

4 Likes
5 Likes

If busking is the goal I would worry less about size and weight, and more about choosing the yoyo you perform best with, and a color that shows up.

8 Likes

I agree. A bright bold color(maybe orange or blue, no engravings or symbols) and of a good size- something that will draw attention from across a courtyard or street.

2 Likes