What should my first One Drop be?

I’m using a YYF One with a goal of buying a nice One Drop once I learn 10 tricks. Any suggestions for which I should go for, considering availability and newbie friendly? Also, any suggestions for a partner, any brand, that will play differently so I can start experimenting with different types as I begin the search for the perfect yoyo FOR ME. :slight_smile:

5 Likes

should probably get a cheaper plastic unresponsive and learn as much as you can on it. Get as comfortable as possible. It’d really suck to ding up your first one drop :slightly_smiling_face:

(all of them are really expensive, would be totally worth the wait. codinghorror sent me a OD Par Avion, my first OD, so I didn’t actually buy one yet :sweat_smile:)

I’ve been yoyoing for 2+ years btw

4 Likes

You could totally go get one if you’re really set on it, but I wouldn’t recommend it if you haven’t become comfortable on unresponsive yet

1 Like

Well, I don’t plan to give up my YYF One. And I would never treat my One Drop like I treat my YYF. Other people go to the park to walk their dogs. I was walking through the park practicing “walk the dog”. Every time that yoyo bounced on the black top I thought “at least it is a cheap yoyo.”

1 Like

Given how much One Drops cost, I would recommend waiting until you really know what shape/style of yoyo you prefer. Also, if you are a relative beginner, you will probably want to swap out its stock flat bearing with a centering bearing.

6 Likes

As a beginner how to do discover what shape and style works best for you unless you buy yoyo’s and experiment with a variety of offerings?

3 Likes

Play a bunch of different shapes in the more inexpensive plastic format first.

2 Likes

“experience”

tl;dr don’t be a beginner

2 Likes

Oh man. That’s gonna be one hell of a jump in quality! What’s your budget?