the "where did you get your name" thread

given the limited number of active members, i dont expect this thread to last long, but i think it would be interesting to hear the story behind the name…

as for me, it was a bit of a dyslexic misspelling of a biblical person Zerubbabel from middle school… i dont understand how, but somehow it became a nickname, and has become my web name

found in luke 3:27… some versions spell differently

please, continue

As a musician, I play guitar and I am endorsed by Ibanez guitars.
And my DOB is on 1988.

It’s my first name tailed off with the first letter of my last name.

In less personal online “areas” I go by Proxymate and Frank Greeford (in some cases HansGreeford dues to character limits). Proxymate does not come in handy while playing starcraft because I instantly lose any opportunity to proxy someone, as they look at my name and start having workers patrolling their base. I did adapt that name before I started Starcraft though. It’s really just a spinoff on the proximity “word-family”. I have never really looked into it as I just thought it was a cool name, but I guess you can analyze it and say that I’m a CloseFriend or a “Proxy Mate”, it kinda ruins the name for me though.

Frank/Hans Greeford is a funny one. This derives from a funyn radioprogram that aired aired 25 broadcasts in 06 and 25 in 08. In 06 they had this small part where they wanted to see how much they could get done in Dutch, without actually knowing the language. They called up hotel Kraznapolski in Amsterdam and just fired random gibberish at this poor girl working in reservations. At one point she asks if he speaks English, and he answers with “no English”. Then he manages to say that he is Dutch, and the girl just feels terribly guilty. video: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=vm7FNCD5dyU , skip to 1:10 to avoid the Norwegian talk.