stolen...

Ok, so here’s what happened:
I am an 8th grade math teacher and I keep odds and ends like rubix cubes and other puzzles in a bowl on my desk for students who finish tests early, or for before and after class, of study hall students that have finished homework. For the past couple months or so I have been passively trying to get my students interested in yoyoing. They have seen me do a few tricks here and there before and after class, and a few have wanted to give it a try, so I tossed in a few yoyos into the bowl. Everything was going well, my yoyos were being taken care of fairly well (a few knots here and there, no biggie). Last Thursday at the end of the day, a YYJ legacy came up missing. The handful of students who really started taking yoyoing seriousley stayed after school to help me look for it - maybe it rolled behind a cabinet or under a desk - they even checked their bookbags to make sure they didn’t put it in there by accident.
So bottom line, a legacy is gone, lost or stolen - who knows; either way my yoyos weren’t treated with respect. I put all the goodies up until I decide what to do. I don’t want anything else to turn up missing, but I also don’t want the seeds of interest in yoyoing to dwindle because of this.
Any ideas? what would you do in this situation?

I would go to the principle. Then if I find who took it, I would cut of his middle finger and bitch-slap him till his faced is puffed.

You seem like a cool teacher. I know it sucks sometimes when one single person has to ruin the fun for everyone but sometimes there is just no avoiding it

an alternative would be to make them sign out the yoyos so you could keep tabs but I suppose the their wouldn’t really sign it

if you really wnat to keep this thing going then lock them up or make each single student request them

all I got

That sucks, tell the students to look for a kid throwing a Legacy of that Color. And Keep a look out. Can’t wait fro the yoyo meeting Saturday.