Skyva Yoyo Review

Opening: As the world of yo-yo tricks evolves more and more there need to be changes in the yo-yo scene to adapt to these variations. I have been playing for almost six years now and I continue to learn more whether it is from a video online or a thread on yoyoexpert.com. When it comes to buying a yo-yo I usually wait a while for prices and reviews to come out before making a purchase. My patience for buying a new yo-yo paid off when I came across the “New Releases” tab on yoyoexpert.com and saw the Skyva yo-yo by Magic Yoyo and Jeffrey Pang. I looked at what other players, such as Brandon Vu and Mike Montgomery, thought about it and immediately knew it was a yo-yo worth trying. The positive reception of this yo-yo along with its price tag helped me make the decision to buy this yo-yo and give it a try.

Specs (Source Yoyoexpert.com):
Diameter: 57.85 mm / 2.27 inches
Width: 45.25 mm / 1.78 inches
Gap Width: 4.50 mm / 0.17 inches
Weight: 65.8 grams
Bearing: Center Trac ® Size C
Response: 19mm Slim Pad

First Impressions: When I got the Skyva yo-yo, I really liked the simplicity of the box design as it only has the important aspects of the yo-yo and nothing too complex. I also thought it was great attention to detail as the string is nicely fitted into a Styrofoam piece. The yo-yo itself was light since it comes in at 65.8 grams compared to the majority of my throws weighing in at about 67 grams and up. Nothing too complex on the yo-yo either, just the name of the yo-yo and what seems to be a cloud in small print, which I like as well. I got the slate gray color which I thought was the nicest and I think it looks even better in person. I really liked the shape as it felt neither too small or too big in my hand. The next thing to do after I got it out of the box was put it to the test.