New yoyo - too responsive

[s]Hey guys, first of all I’d like to apologize for my English. It’s not my native language so please don’t go hard on me :stuck_out_tongue:

First I’ll give some background, just skip this part if you don’t feel like reading it: I’ve been yoyoing for around 2-3 months. I used to love yoyos back when I was a kid and the last yoyo I had was a Fast 201. I just found it some months ago and decided to go ahead and try getting into yoyoing again. I bought myself an Adegle PSG because it was fairly cheap and it seemed like a good choice due to how hard to break it was… Three months later I feel comfortable with a yoyo again and I can do pretty much any basic unresponsive trick and I feel like getting myself a somewhat delayed Christmas present.

So I’ve been looking up a ton of information about different yoyos and all that stuff and, apparently, the YYF Protostar is a really good choice because it’s almost as good as a metal yoyo(which I’ve never used) but still keeps the upsides of a plastic one.

But for pretty much the same price I could also get a Dv888, which looks like a better investment in the long run. But I am scared of messing up while learning my tricks and breaking it. Because all I’ve heard is bad about metal yoyos is that they break way more easily than plastic ones. I don’t go around throwing my yoyo into walls but I’ve had it hit the floor or whatever in these 3 months. Is it a good idea getting a metal yoyo, then?

And a last question: I haven’t tried doing any fancy maintenance or modding or whatever to my yoyo. I’ve heard I should lube the bearing and change the pads and… other stuff… So… Am I supposed to start doing that with my new yoyo in case I get one?

Thanks for the help in advance :smiley: And sorry for the wall of text.[/s]