Mouth Guard

I’m new to yoyo play.

Is it dumb that I’m thinking of ordering a mouth guard? I don’t mind getting hit but losing a tooth isn’t my idea of fun. ;D I feel like I’ve gotten really lucky an absurd amount of times so far (especially with the sleeping beauty trick) and that it would be a good idea to stop tempting fate.

Also, doo you all use anything else for protection or have any specific ways to avoid it other than always landing the trick? lol

Well Augie Fash has chipped a tooth yoyoing so I can’t be a terrible idea…

Never store a yo-yo with a known or even possible tangle in it; you’ll forget and get hit.
When appropriate, keep your lips over your teeth (always for horizontal tricks).
Never yo-yo carelessly.

That’s all I try to remember. I would be very upset if I chipped a tooth, and so would my wife and my mom.

I won’t discourage you from getting a mouthguard. I can respect that. :slight_smile:

Use a plastic yoyo. Maybe tape it.

You eventually learn the ninja matrix dodge reaction where as soon as you feel a bad snag you get your hand and your face as far away from each other as possible as quickly as possible.

5 Likes

also alot of people have a habit of “hovering” over their tricks and lean right over top of what they are doing. Avoiding this will help avoid getting hit too.

Your teeth are a natural mouth guard.

Use them well.

1 Like

This. “Why’s my string suddenly so short? SMACK!!!”

I take it you’ve never played a contact sport?

I don’t even wear a mouthguard for hockey, do you think I’m gonna wear one for yoyoing? ;D But seriously, as long as you’re careful, you should be fine.