Magnesium Yoyo

Hey guys I am thinking about getting a magnesium Yoyo. This will be my first yoyo made out of magnesium. Before I get it I wanted to know some opinion about this material. Does anyone know what particular characteristics does it have compered with other materials like aluminum or titanium. How well it last in time ?
Thanks

4 Likes

No one has any experience with magnesium yoyos ? :frowning:

2 Likes

no, they rare yoyos.

5 Likes

If you are really looking for an exotic experience you should try and get your hands on a sodium or potassium yo-yo. That’ll really spark.

3 Likes

You either buy a Duncan MG. Or a death robot MG. Or you get a Magnum.

7 Likes

I want a Magnum so hard.

1 Like

Water would just make them explode with excitement right?

2 Likes

YoYo Friends is going to be dropping one on May 30th.

6 Likes

yeah the key is to not breath on it too much lol!

I work as a chemist and sometimes I ■■■■ around and have fun with alkaline earth metals… nothing like throwing a 5 gram chunk of pure potassium into the creek behind your house and watching it explode

2 Likes

Look who’s back! You must have some kind of Magnesium radar.

4 Likes

Nothing all that special with magnesium yo-yos. Imo, for the price range, I’d much rather pick up a titanium yo-yo, which is much more durable and does not have the issue of heavy oxidation over time if the surface isn’t treated. Threading also strips easier because of the softness of the material.

The material is mostly a gimmick. There’s arguments for its usage since it’s lighter than aluminum but supposedly equally as strong as your standard 6061 Al, but realistically, can anyone really make a better playing yo-yo with this material than anything widely available on the market as is?

9 Likes