Hi Folks - New Old guy with questions...

First off - let me say thanks in advance for the help. I’m into a lot of other forums for my other hobbies, but I can already tell I’ve got a lot of reading to do here…

I’m an older beginner - I’ll be 40 in a few days… I tinkered around with the typical Duncan imperial in my youth and a bit again in college… never anything serious though… never even tried to learn to sleep or anything like that.

So - I for some reason now have an urge to learn… Midlife crisis? Second Childhood? No idea… but I’m very interested.

I picked up what I could find at the local Walmart - a Duncan Imperial and a Butterfly. Spent about 3 hours off and on yesterday watching videos and practicing my throw… by midnight I could finally control a sleep and return… but it still needs a lot of work.

I also found that I think I want to get a bit better yoyo to start with, as both of these just dont want to sleep for very long at all - maybe 10 seconds or so… and they dont appear very well balanced.

That being said - I’m heading to Toy’s R Us tonight planning on picking up a Metal Drifter. But I wanted to ask if there were any others that they usually carry that would be good as well?

My head is swimming with all the new terminology - but i know I want a responsive yo-yo that can be made unresponsive as I learn more. I believe the Drifter will meet this requirement via the friction stickers and/or bearing oil mods…

Eventually, in a month or two when I acquire some skills, I’ll likely get something like a DM2, but didnt want to throw nearly $50 at this until I’m sure I’ll enjoy it long term.

Thanks for your suggestions and I look forward to learning more…

I would say skip the drifter and get a DMII. Then go through the tutorials on this site. That’s how a lot of us got started.