Best Beginner Yo-Yo? Help? Please?

Hello guys. I am very new to the yo-yo world, however I have learned quite a bit about the yo-yo’s themselves. Anyways, What would be the best yo-yo for a beginner? I want to do 1a style/type yo-yoing and i want a REALLY responsive one. I am hoping to not spend more than 25$ and please remember I am a beginner. Thanks alot guys, because I really want to start learning how to yo-yo well. All help is appreciated.

-Foofy =D

I started on a Duncan mosquito and then got a descent unresponsive to learn on.

I started out with the Peter Fish Luminator…I feel I’m wrong on the spelling. But you can get a starter pack for like 15 to 20 bucks. And it will last you a good while. At least till your ready to start unresponsive play lol. Good luck

Thanks for the help so far. Is the mosquito responsive enough to come back to your hand when i just give it a slight tug? And I will also give that peter fish luminator a look.

Yah. Mine was at least and I bought 2.

Awesome! I guess I will give the mosquito a shot, And I might eventually give the luminator a shot as well, it looks quite good and looks pretty dang cool. Thanks for your help everybody!

Just a heads up, I heard the Mosquito is very very light. The Flying Squirrel, also by Duncan, is essentially the heavier version of the Mosquito. Costs around 3 dollars more, but well worth it, I heard.

Don’t get this.

Or this.

Neither of these are what I would recommend. I have throw a Mosquito, and there are much better options for you. I have also thrown a modded Luminator. It just doesn’t have adequate spin times and it feels cheap.

I would suggest one of the following:

Yomega Brain (If you are an absolute beginner, as in never thrown a yoyo before. Can’t do string tricks.)
YoYoFactory FAST 201 (Probably best all around that I have played with)
YoYoFactory Velocity (If you don’t want to buy another yoyo to go unresponsive, but doesn’t play too great when the response is turned up.)