Beginner: Help - How can I smooth out when my yoyo hits the end of the string?

Hi guys,

I’m pretty new to the yo-yoing world, but I’ve messed around with them a bit in the past.
Mostly I’ve worked with a Duncan Proyo which made for some really smooth gravity pulls, forward passes, and loops.

I recently wanted to try a less responsive yoyo since my Proyo doesn’t sleep at all, so I bought a Dark Magic II and have been going through the beginner videos. I left the more responsive bearing in.

Watching the videos, I can see the expert’s sleeper throws and forward passes are really smooth. By this I mean when the yoyo hits the end of the string it doesn’t jerk. The forward passes make a nice swinging arc and gently go back to the operator’s hand.

When I do a sleeper throw, my yoyo hits the end of the string hard and bounces a tiny bit. When I do forward passes with it, it’s really difficult to return to my hand because it snaps out to the end and seems to sleep. Regardless if I throw a forward pass gently or hard, it feels like I’m just yanking the thing around, not in the smooth arc of the videos or what I can do with my Proyo.

I’m used to the smooth down and up of the sleeper or out and back of the forward pass with my Proyo, but I just feel like I’m jerking around my Dark Magic II. The videos use the same yoyo, so I figure there must be a way for me to achieve this as well.

Do you guys have any tips on how I can improve to get smooth sleeper throws when my yoyo hits the end of the string and how I can get a smooth arc and return out of the forward pass with my Dark Magic II?

Thanks for reading!