Hello yo-yo-ers! :smiley: Im new to the whole yo-yo thing, i purchased a Dark Magic yo-yo thinking that i would be able to get on with it, but im having a little trouble, i can do all the tricks up to The Flying Trapeze, sometimes when i swing my yo-yo onto the string it never ever stays on there for more than 2 seconds what am i doing wrong?

Also, My yo-yo isnt responsive, is there anyway i can make it responsive so i can actually “Yo-Yo” :stuck_out_tongue:

Thanks in advance,

Josh

Welcome to yoyoing and the forum! Hope you like it here! :wink:

The Dark Magic, as well as many other yoyos made today are made to be unresponsive, meaning that they require a “bind” to return them.

The reason it falls off is because the strings are rubbing the side of the yoyo. You need to keep everything in the same plane; you need to keep everything in a straight line.

Thanks for the awesome Welcome :slight_smile:

Well i was just practicing it again, and i realized that i wasn’t slacking the string that it lands on, so i was asking it to fall off, i just did a sucessful D OR N :))))))))))

thanks,

when you do trapze i would say you need a realy strong breakaway and you realy dont need to make yoyo responseve just learn how to bind if you want to lean go to this sight http://yoyoexpert.com/learn/030-intermediate-bind-returns.html

You can make it responsive if that’s how you prefer it. You need a thicker oil for the bearing. That will help a lot. And the DM has an adjustable gap so make sure you adjust it all the way in. Another thing to try would be to do a double wrap with the string around the bearing.

Do all of that and you should be “yo-yoing”.