from Sunset Trajectory to Dark Magic....

Hi all, I’m a newbie to the forum but frequent the site a lot. I’ve just bought a dark magic yoyo after working for quite a while with a sunset trajectory. I have gotten all of the basics down with the ST and wanted to move on to learning string tricks.

Anyway, the reason for my post is I want to make sure what I am experiencing right now is normal. I had gotten pretty good doing the basics and was learning some looping on my ST as well. Today I played around with my Dark Magic and I feel like I’ve never held a yoyo before! It is extremely hard to get the thing back to my hand after throwing a strong sleeper. Sometimes my wrist jerk will bounce the yoyo almost all the way up to my hand without it actually catching and winding back up. Is this normal and I just need to keep practicing? Thanks

The Dark Magic can come unresponsive.

It is a butterfly shaped yoyo, unlike the Sunset Trajectory.

The shape makes it have less friction, but it will be more nresponsive, in other words, it won’t come back with a tug.

I reccomend to learn binds:
http://yoyoexpert.com/learn/030-intermediate-bind-returns.html

But if you don’t feel you’re ready, order some thick lube, put that in the bearing and it will come up with a tug.

You can get thick lube here:
http://yoyoexpert.com/product/yoyojam/thick-lube

But, if you don’t want to pay $5 bucks for shipping, you can use sewing machine oil if you have it.

I’ve also heard that Vasalene, vegetable oil, and grape jelly work as well.

No.

the DM is rim weighted so even if you play them responsive they will sleep very well for a long time and play fairly unresponsive. I know this cause thats how I play them. I love them this way but honestly Thin or one drop of Yomega thin lube will work fine. You should buy some so that way you’ll always have it. trust me it’s a good investment.

~Yin/white mamba

if I was you I would put some thick lube in there