Dark Magic response help PLEASE!

Hey Guys. I am a newbie at playing but i wanted to get better so i switched from a duncan mosquito to a dark magic. I love the yoyo, really nice sleeper, but it isnt very responsive. The gap is as small as it can go and ive used two different strings. I need to yank it up half-way to my hand for it to catch.

Any Advice,
Thanks, bsubroncos

Some YoYoJam Yo-Yos are meant to be responsive, and some are un-responsive.

You got a Dark Magic, and that Yo-Yo isn’t really made to be responsive.

My advice, when you clean your bearing, use thick lube to keep it going.

Avalible here: http://yoyoexpert.com/product/yoyojam/thick-lube/

Good luck! :wink:

1 Like

There’s a thing called a Bind Return. It’s how players with unresponsive yoyos bring their yoyos back to their hand.

Dark Magic, however, is supposedly able to be tug responsive if you put Thick Lube on it.

1 Like

Yeah, just learn some simple bind returns and then you’re set.
But if you have problems in binding, then yes, you should get some thick lube.

1 Like

Thanks so much you guys ill try these out and get back with any questions.

you could get thick lube which would probably be the best option…
Or you can get a YYF half spec bearing which would give you longer spintimes and make your gap smaller.

1 Like

just go with the lube 8)

Mosquito to DM- Kind of a big step, but OK. It would be good to learn to bind so the yoyo is still unresponsive and you can use it to it’s full potential. Spencer L. is right, the Dark Magic is one of the ones that is not responsive. I hope this helped! (binding ftw!)

Just pointing out, my dark magic with a 10Ball (cleaned) and a thick red shim can return with a violent tug. Even my friend’s kickside with a maximum adjustable gap and a cleaned bearing can be tugged violently for a return. I think it has something to do with the starbursts, and the strength of your throw.