Yoyo not staying asleep very well

sorry…two threads right after registering. I’m “that guy” today. I’m new to the yoyo world.

I’ve got the Dark Magic 2 and with the responsive bearing if I get a pretty good sleeper going I can keep it down maybe 60 seconds, which is amazing compared to what I had before but I know it should probably be a lot longer. I’ve got the original string on it at the moment. I lubed the bearing and tried a new string that came with my Luminator advanced kit but it seemed like it was too thick and the sleep time diminished even more so I went back to the original. I try to do Brain Scrambler and maybe 1 in 10 tries can I even get one forward swing then reverse out of it and the yoyo actually have enough momentum to return to my hand.

Is there a different string I need?
I saw mention on the internet somewhere about cleaning the bearing. Should I do that?
Do I just suck at throwing a decent sleeper?
Is there anything else I need to do optimize this thing?

A 1 minute sleeper with the responsive bearing is about normal due the more narrow gap any amount of string in the gap is going to narrow the spin time down.

You’re going to hear this a lot, but…work on your throw. Other than that, try popping in the unresponsive bearing that came with it. It’ll probably help A LOT, and if you can do brain twister, learning to bind should be relatively easy.

Everything is normal. The more lube you put on the bearing, the less it will sleep, so don’t overlube it.
Narrow bearings do put out less sleep times due to the fact that they friction the response or the wall of the yoyo more.
Changing strings will not change much of your sleep time, just practice more, and if you really want more sleep time, change the bearing to the unresponsive one.

You’re not that guy, don’t worry haha. We’re here to at least attempt to answer questions and help people, so it’s all good. Welcome to YYE!