YYF Whip

I am thinking of buying a YYF Whip for a pocket throw, what do u guys think?

When someone mentions the Whip, I immediately also think of the OneStar and Replay. The Whips is a good yoyo, and the smallest & least expensive of these 3. The first time I tried a whip, I was a beginner and thought “this is unstable, doesn’t spin long and isn’t for me” Deep down, I knew part of the story was my own skill (or lack thereof). A month or so ago, I picked up the same Whip, threw it, and said to my son “Wow, this yoyo got a whole lot better.” Of course, the yoyo didn’t get better while sitting in a case. My skills improved.

That all said, if the size is the biggest driver, go with the Whip. If you can stand to go a little larger (~1mm diameter, ~2mm width), I think the OneStar is a bit better of a value (although it costs almost 50% more than the Whip). If even bigger is OK for you, I would go with the Replay, which is a crazy good yoyo. OneStar and Replay feel more forgiving for sloppy trick execution than the whip, but, the advantage of the Whip is it will give you feedback on your technique. It is a good yoyo, and, as you can see from the videos, it won’t hold a skilled player back.

1 Like

Yea thx! I already have the onstar and replay pro too!?

Its a good cheap organic shaped plastic throw. I do like my onestar better though.

And your favorite yoyo is the regen, so you’re past the point of buying super cheap throws. Ok. Why do you want a whip then? If you’re not a beginner, there’s really no reason to buy a whip. I know; you want to use it as a pocket throw. However, the one drop dingo, and the c3 token and FAR superior in terms of performance and size. Save a little more, go for the better options.

Ok thx guys!!