One or Whip?

Hey I’m new to yoyo-ing and I’m deciding between getting the yyf whip or the yyf One. I can kinda bind but not so much but I’m sure I’ll get it with some practice. Either would be my first ever yoyo. Which one do you guys think I should get? Please help.

Get the One and start with responsive play. Actually, get the Starbrite and enter unresponsive play. No, screw that, get a Stackless Grind Machine… wait, PSG or Asteroid? No… Kickside? Speed Maker? Lyn Fury? Hmmmm…

The ONE and WHIP are just too light, but the ONE is a fantastic starter yoyo that can get you to advanced play no problem. With the lack of weight, spin time is reduced, but it does force you to land cleaner to avoid extra slow-downs. The WHIP is unresponsive, period, and is light like the ONE. The rest I mentioned are good weights, but very different performance characteristics. The Kickside, Speed Maker and Lyn Fury start off being responsive but can be made more unresponsive through little adjustments, easy mods you can do without tools and similar simple, inexpensive “no tool needed” things. That being said, the Lyn Fury is a fantastic value in that category.

Legacy II: Better weight, 2 bearings. Start with your responsive basics, work through the trick list, then when you’re ready, pop in the wider bearing and get into the cooler advanced stuff when you’re binding. I know it costs more, but it’s worth it. DM2 is nice if you want plastic/metal and is still one of my hands-down favorites.

The others I recommended are good too but some require a but more knowledge, such as bearing maintenance and siliconing stuff, which you may not want to screw with just yet.

I feel the Legacy II, despite being more, is the better choice.

Thanks, but I would kinda prefer if you could just help me decide between those two. Maybe I can try those another time. But I really wanna start out with the ONE or the WHIP.

Get both! :slight_smile:
They’re kind of cheap at only $10 each.