YYF Loop Series Comparison?

Can anyone point me to some kind of comparison of the Loop series throws from the factory (720, 900, 1080, etc.)? Or maybe give me a brief rundown?

Thanks team!

4 Likes

I am by no means an expert, but I will take a first pass at this:

Loop 360 - cheap, intro looping yoyo (~$10US). Has response pads that eventually need to be replaced and is not super well regarded.

Loop 720 - a little more expensive and durable than the 360 and currently frequently recommended as a starting place for 2A beginners. Starburst response, so no pad maintenance. Pretty solid and well tested yoyo. Uses metal spacers that come in 4 colors. Red, blue, green, and purple. If I recall correctly, the red spacers were originally available only in Japan and where highly sought after, but in the last few years they became more commonly available. Also, if I understand correctly, the purple spacers are basically the same as the red spacers, just newer. The spacers allow for a little bit of gap adjustment and can be mixed and matched.

Loop 900 - discontinued iteration on the 720 shape that used nylon spacers and apparently had some durability and stability issues. Starburst response.

Loop 1080 - discontinued? An iteration of the 900 design.

Loop 2020 - YYF’s current high end looping yoyo with several customization options. Starburst response with three interchangeable variants, three different axles, and three different spacer variants. The Shu Takada 2020 model is pre-configured the way that Shu prefers instead of the default setup.

iYoYo SUNRiSE - The Loop 720 body with YYJ spacers and bearing.