Yoyo Problem

Hey guys,

I’m fairly new to yoyoing and I’ve been having a problem where I will throw a breakaway but the yoyo doesn’t seem to spin as long as it should be spinning for. When I throw a breakaway, i can feel the yoyo just falling out of the string like if the string is not tight around the bearing and pads. Am I not binding perfectly or do i need to change pads or strings? Not sure what the problem is, since I’ve already change the strings. It is like the string is not fully grasping the bearing so when I attempt to do breakaway it doesn’t spin as long as I want it too. Any thoughts or tips would help.

Thanks

1 Like

Yep, it sounds like the string isn’t wound around the bearing properly. The yoyo should feel tight on the string as it’s thrown and unwinds and should be spinning really fast when it gets to the end of the string. Are you able to throw and bind ok with a regular throw (front throw)? Binding from a breakaway is different because the yo-yo is spinning in the opposite direction from a front throw. You maybe know this already, but just in case. I posted here when I was first learning how to bind and people sent some very helpful links and posted a few videos. Maybe search “bind help” etc in the forums and see if that helps.

1 Like

Yup my front throw are perfect. String is tight. Yoyo spins nice and fast. Side throws is the problem but I’ll make sure to search for bind help. Thanks

2 Likes

Like 99% of everything with yo-yo, it’s probably just practice/experience. Luckily throwing breakaways to trapeze is addictive, so you’ll get plenty of practice. :slight_smile:

2 Likes