Where to start? I'm a newcomer

Hello all, my name is Renato and I’m an absolute beginner to yo-yoing. I’ve seen some videos at yoyotricks.com (I loved that site, by the way) and I bought 2 Duncan Imperial yoyos. The style I like the most is 2A and I don’t really find 1A appealing. I’m not sure where to start. I don’t know anyone in my country that plays yoyo, so I have to rely on international forums. Could you give me some guidance, links, youtube channels etc for someone who is an absolute beginner and have no idea where to start?

Thanks for your attention!

Well, you’re in the right place!
I don’t know much about 2a, but I know it’s a bear!

Hang with it; don’t get discouraged; be awesome!

In all honesty, Duncan Imperials are really bad for looping or 2a. 2a also burns through strings (makes strings snap) much more frequently than other styles. 2a also requires a lot of yoyo maintenance. If you’re serious about pursuing 2a here’s what I’d suggest.

There’s a few things you should get. I’ll give you the cheapest viable options.

For 2a, get a pair of Loop 360s for $8 each.

You’ll want a lot of strings as strings can snap easily with 2a. For the 360s the best option is polyester strings. You can get these for $13 or $11 if you get them in white. https://shop.yoyoexpert.com/collections/yo-yo-string/products/100-count-100-polyester-yoyoexpert-string?variant=21587350084

You’ll also want so thick yoyo lube to give your yoyo more response (there’s a video on this website that explains how to use it and why it’s necessary). Make sure you buy the THICK lube and not THIN. $5. https://shop.yoyoexpert.com/collections/yo-yo-bearings/products/yoyojam-lube?variant=18870462724

For a little over $30 it’s a great starting point and will last you a long time. The 360s and lube will pretty much last forever and it’ll be a while until you need to buy more strings with a 100 pack.