New to yo-yoing. Where do I start?

Hi! I got my hands on a cheap plastic toy yo-yo yesterday and just started playing around with it. I decided to check out some videos on youtube, found the expertville videos and noticed the url that lead here - and became very interested in learning this art. But since I am new to this, I don’t know where to start. I know that there are many styles of yo-yo, and that there are two different kinds of yo-yo’s. As I have decided to get one, or more, myself I am unsure about where to start. I can easily throw in $40 on a good one. The last thing I want is some cheap thing limiting me if I should really become addicted. So should I get both an imperial one and a butterfly?
I really want to learn a diverse range of styles - so any recommendations or advice to get me going as quick as possible would be very appreciated!

Welcome to the forum, and yoyoing! Hope you like it as much as all of us crazy people here do! :stuck_out_tongue:

I would suggest checking out this guide. It’ll give you some good ideas for things to get as you progress in the sport. Comprehensive Yo-Yo Guide - General Yo-Yo - YoYoExpert Forums

Basically, I would highly suggest getting a plastic from YYJ, or the YYF Velocity. These will all be great yoyos that can start out responsive while you learn to bind, and can become pretty unresponsive when you get better and can bind easily.

If you want to do some looping too, I would suggest picking up some Sunset Trajectory NXG’s or some Speed Beatles. These will be good to start with.

As for 3a, 4a, and 5a, they’re hard to start with. You want to have a pretty solid background with 1a first.

If you have any more questions, ask away. Also, the search button is very useful.

Blasphemy! Yoyos aren’t toys!!! :stuck_out_tongue: I’m just messing around.