Complete beginner, advice needed! :D

Hey,

I’m a complete beginner to yoyoing. I’ve been remembering the fun involved in simply playing about with a yoyo when i was young. I’ve never really done any tricks just the simple pull up action sort of thing.

First things first i need a yoyo. I’ve done some reserach but am overwhelmed by the wide varities and shapes of yoyos.

I understand that a butterfly yoyo is for string tricks, whereas a modified or imperial is for looping.

First things first, i don’t know whether a butterfly or modified, and hence string or looping tricks would be better for a complete beginner.

Some advice would be good :smiley:

I’m not great at practical things, so i’ll probably fail, but yoyoing seems great and to be able to do tricks would be really amazing!

So thanks! :smiley:

I’m technically a beginner again as well. (Coming back after about 5 years). (although I was doing tricks back then)
I ordered a YYF ONE. (YoyoFactory One). I think the other members of the forum could help you out better than I can, though. Definitely listen to their suggestions. I know from experience going based on instinct or “what feels right” isn’t always the best thing to do. It’s definitely beneficial to hear different opinions from people who are more experienced.

I recommend watching all of the videos in the “Learn” Section under the “Beginner” subcategory as well as the “maintenance” subcategory. They both definitely helped me to better understand yoyoing.

And as with any hobby, a good foundation is imperative. So master (and I mean master) the basics before moving on to more advanced stuff.

Also, welcome to the forum. I hope you have a good time here.

I would start with the style that looks more interesting to you. If it’s not interesting, you won’t practice it. That’s how it was with me and looping. I started trying it out, but didn’t find it as fun as 1A, so I rarely practiced it.