Looking to buy a yoyo

Ok, not sure where I should have put this in the forum, as I couldn’t really see somewhere specific, but here made the most sense.

I’m new to the whole yoyoing thing and am tired of buying cheap yoyos at a random store which break within a week, so I was wondering if maybe I could get some advice on a good, not too expensive yoyo. and maybe some information to help me know what I should look for? I was thinking I was to try and learn tricks, probably both string and looping, but not sure which might be better to start off with. I’ve been looking around and don’t want to just get a yoyo cos it looks nice, I’ve also read up on some information, but I’d prefer get an opinion from people who actually use these yoyos, Could anyone help steer me in the right direction?

Maybe also if you could help direct me to somewhere I could try to learn tricks, I would be grateful, thanks in advance for any help.

A Yoyojam plastic such as a journey, Lyn Fury, Speedmaker, etc. would be fine and if you want it to be responsive for a while i would suggest some thick lube, I’ve played all of these (and ghave all of these) and they would all work fine (except for 2a, their mostly for string tricks)

1 Like

Thanks, what would you suggest as a starter, Im looking at them Yo Yo Jam yoyos, I like the look of the Unleashed, Speed Maker and Journey ones…

Yoyo Factory Velocity is great for starters. I still use it today sometimes. Plus u can change from responsive to unresponsive so u can use it for string tricks and looping

So, I found online a package deal for a ‘beginner pack’ for Butterfly or Imperial or Profly or Proyo, with a trick book, some other accessories… Are those yoyos good? (Butterfly, Imperial, Profly or Proyo)

butterfly sleeps for about 6 seconds. not good. imperial is even worse. check this out: http://shop.yoyoexpert.com/product/541/YoYoFactory-Starter-Set