What's the point of have multiple yo-yos?

I want to have a bunch of yo-yos and I want to collect them, but I have no logical reason why. Someone give me a reason so I don’t feel so fiscally irresponsible when I spend all this money on yo-yos.

As long as you have the disposable income, that’s all the justification you need. Yoyos are actually very affordable when compared to collecting coins, cars, guitars, etc. It’s what you like, have fun.

2 Likes

There’s no great reason.

But as mrciurleo said… if it’s disposable, what the heck? If you’re strapped for cash, stick to one until you’re a bit more flush.

It’s fun to try different types of yoyos. The different colors, the different finishes, strings, etc. I’m still pretty new to yoyos and I have more than I ever thought I would have when I first started lol.

Variety is the spice of life.

2 Likes

I agree with the comments above. It seems like you enjoy collecting, but you think it may not be the best financial decision for you right now. I always viewed collecting as something very personal and suited to each collector’s own theme, scope and budget. If any of those things is out of line, it could suck the fun right out of it.

If you are truly spending more than you should, take a step back. There are no reasons we can give you that will override that fact. Part of the fun of collecting is shifting things around. You are always in control. You can keep what you have and stop spending for awhile, you can downsize and sell some of them, or re-evaluate your theme and set your own rules on what you can buy. For example, if you set a rule to only buy one brand, or one color, it makes things a lot easier to focus.

A few of my reasons for having multiples are:

I like variety;
I enjoy collecting based on themes (the thrill of the hunt); and
I enjoy supporting my favorite companies.