How many here get by on a handful or less of yoyos?

In reading through the various threads and seeing some of the listings in buy/sell/trade there are a lot of people here who have a LOT of yoyos. I was wondering if there are many people here who go more towards the minimalist route and only throw 5 or less. I’m just getting back into yoyos and I’ve sold/am selling all but one of my old yoyos (5) and bought a couple new so I’m currently at 3 and holding back from buying more for now. (Which has been tough!) If I had to guess, I’d bet that people who only have a few yoyos are in the minority.

7 Likes

I like to keep my numbers around 10-15 or so. Rarely more.

4 Likes

As a beginner, I am trying to stick to just one responsive and one unresponsive yoyo to learn on (both plastic).

Of course, I have a number of higher end (i.e., metal) unresponsives waiting for me in my small collection for when I get good enough not to be hitting myself constantly. Like Dust, I am trying to limit my collection to 10-15.

5 Likes

Kind of like asking how many live on bread and butter. I only had one, when I got my first one. Thank goodness those days are behind me. I had five when I got my fifth. I’ve never looked back! Why limit myself?

7 Likes

Everyone’s only going to have a few when they start out. I was just wondering how many people out there have 2-3, 3-4, 4-5 and say, “I’m good with these, I don’t want any more.”

3 Likes

I can see if some peeps only want to have a few. But I don’t think many will say “I don’t want any more”. Think about your cell phone, it’s probably good right now but you think that means you won’t want another eventually? Technology changes and (usually) advances and with that newer and sometimes better yoyos.

I personally have lots. Actually more than lots lol.

3 Likes