What is the next level for me in terms of yoyos?

So I enjoy both my 56mm DM2 but also enjoy my 50mm DV888 so apparently I don’t really have a preference for diameter. I’m pretty sure that I am more consistent with catches with the larger yoyo, but that is just practice. Anyways, I’m new to this new technology of unresponsive play, but am LOVING it so far. I haven’t really committed to a preference for metal or plastic. I am more stingy with my metal ones due to trying to avoid nicks.

Skill wise, I can’t do any slack tricks yet except for a grab at a suicide (instead of the finger poke). I can do 66% of the Advanced Part 1 tricks (mostly because I haven’t researched what the others are yet, but I’m sure they aren’t too tough). I can do Thumb Grind and Cold Fusion from Part 2.

Throws (worth mentioning beside the hoard of Yomega yoyos) that I already own: Yomega Dash, Blazer (I didn’t know that there was anything but Yomega at that time), DM1, DM2, DV888, and soon to have a Grind Machine.

What I want to know is what yoyos should I be looking to next? I have a grind machine on the way so that I can test out the concept of hubstacks, but consensus seems to say that it isn’t a big deal. I also have come KonKave bearings on the way for the DM2 and DV888. I’m new to this new technology and newly returned to throwing as a whole. My price range could include the $120 ones if they were worth it.

fundametals or proto/northstar would b good 4 u

Well, pretty much all the yoyos made are open to you now. You could go with any number of brands, CLYW, BBYY, Spy, OD, YYF. I would try a protostar. I just got one and I’m amazed by it. It might not be a step up, but it will certainly compete with your DMs and Dv888.

Thanks guys, keep’em coming. I would be open to the idea of using a high performing plastic. That way I wouldn’t be so stingy and paranoid about nicking it.