Weights and your Opinion

What is the average weight along with what is CONSIDERED light, heavy, aka?
What is your preferred weight, comfortable, or used more?

I just recently got back into yoyoing and I’m just a beginner so correct me if I’m wrong. I feel like its hard to determine what effect weight has on the yoyo sometimes. I got the superstar-protostar bundle on YYE and have been playing with these two yoyos for over a month now. Although on paper the two are only .4 grams apart, the superstar feels much much heavier when I’m playing with it. I think because the shape and many other factors affect how the yoyo plays that its hard to single out what effect the weight has on the yoyo. So when I’m looking at yoyos, the weight doesn’t really mean much to me, and I don’t have a preferred weight. (possibly because I haven’t tried that many yoyos, and I only have 2 with me atm) I would like to try the draupnir or leo sniper that are significantly lighter and see how they play differently, but unfortunatley those are too expensive for me atm :frowning:

But to answer the question more directly, I play with mostly 67g yoyos currently, which I think are average just based on the yoyos I’ve browsed in the shop.

Light:<64.5
Mid:65-67
Heavy:>67.5
My yoyos center around 65.5-66.5g. I typically dont care about >67.5g yoyos regardless of how ‘‘light’’ they are in play. Sold my Phenom quickly

Most yo-yos seem to fall somewhere between 63g and 69g. I prefer the yo-yos on the right side of the weight spectrum. The yo-yos that are heavier appeal to me the most. There are exceptions to the rule though, because some yo-yos are actually lighter, but play heavier than their weight suggests. So, while weight is an indication of whether I’m likely to enjoy something, I never completely rule out the lighter throws. I have been surprised on occasion (Exit 8 ).

My preference is generally from 66-68g, but it can vary depending on the shape and distribution of the throw