Trouble using yoyo

im a noob to yoyos in the modern age, I watched the video on how to string my yoyo and when i try, the yoyo just spins and wont come back up… what am i doing wrong? i looped over my finger once and wrapped it 3 times as the video said, it wound up around the yoyo…

3 Likes

Hey, welcome to the forums! :smiley:

Most yoyos these days are what is called “unresponsive” which means it will sleep (spin) at the end of the string and will not return to your hand with a tug.
They take a trick called a ‘bind’ to get them to return.

Maybe you’d prefer what’s considered a “responsive” yoyo to start out with. These will return to your hand with a tug like you’re expecting without the need of a bind.

There’s lots of great options for responsive these days. If this is something you’re looking for I’d be happy to give you some suggestions!

2 Likes

welcome aboard! you’ve come to the right place for help… @twitch77 hooked you up with some good questions and info… he’s a nice guy for sure! if you don’t know where to start… we’ve all been there

2 Likes

thanks for the fast reply, I wasnt expecting that but its awesome! and yes, i got the oscillator which is an unresponsive yoyo… i guess i should have started with a responsive yoyo lol. ill figure it out for sure, the video helped!!

2 Likes

It doesn’t matter which you start with as long as you understand the mechanics of what you are using. Unresponsive just gives you very long spin time but you have to do a bind to get the yoyo to return. Once you learn that you’re on your way. You just can’t use an unresponsive for looping and similar stuff. Welcome aboard!

2 Likes

Here’s a few suggestions on some responsive yoyos that would be great to learn with. They’re nice yoyos that will spin at the end of the string…but they’ll all return to your hand with a tug which will really help with getting use to the basics.