The Key is Consistency

I was doing my usual thing where I was whining about collectors not throwing enough and not touching material like horizontal in some form or another, when a user here brought up a great point. He said:

And I thought “awesome response”, and I totally see where he’s coming from. But, my experience is slightly different. I say, he’s totally right if you’re talking about top competitors. No one wins worlds while holding down a professional 9-5 (to my knowledge).

BUT, my counter example to your point is myself. I’m a pre-med student, a let me tell you man, it’s rough. Last semester I was up at 6:30 doing calculus every morning, and I usually put in over well 8 hours of work, not counting class time. When you’re taking strenuous math, biology, and chemistry classes simultaneously, school rapidly turns into a full time commitment.

But I still made time to practice the violin for 90-120 minutes, and yo-yo for half an hour, every day. (And I usually got 8 hours of sleep too :smile:). For me, the key is consistency. Half an hour EVERY day, will lead to results. This is more than enough time to learn horizontal too. But you gotta do it consistently. And you’ve got to be motivated to improve. By that I mean actually PRACTICE. Break down what you’re having trouble with. Work on what you consistently fail at. Isolate one move and do it repeatedly. Few tricks are out of reach when exposed to this treatment.

Sound like turning yo-yo into boring work? Wondering why you would ever do that instead of just doing Kwijibo on your titanium yo-yo, and not having to practice? Do you say you have no interest in improving your skill, when you can just buy another yo-yo?
My response is: do me favor. Up your skill. Learn those hard tricks.
And then, when you’re yoyoing to music and you realize you can do any one of 6 great looking combos when your favorite part comes on,