Some basic beginner questions

Hi I’m Lourens 48 years old, a complete beginner that wants to be a pro. No just kidding, getting a good throw some basic trics and a reliable bind for now will be great. I had some basic questions for you experts.

• I had a look around the internet and local (Internet) shops and from all the most advised beginner yoyo’s (First Base, Replay , Arrow) the YYF Arrow is the one that I can easily get my hands on. I had the idea of buying 2 of them (they are cheap enough) setting one up as a responsive yoyo and the other as a unresponsive so I can easily swap at will and try to learn a bind as fast as possible while also learning a good throw and a few trics on the responsive yoyo. I’m also considering buying a yyf Loop 720 as that looks like something I played around with as a kid and it’s maybe a way to test if I prefer 1A or 2A.

What do you experts think of this, would that be a good approach?

• Do I have to lube a new yoyo immediatly or do they come pre lubed?

• What happens when I lube a responsive yoyo like the arrow with the preinstalled bearings with thin lube? I ask this as one internet shop claims that the YYF performance oil long spin is good for both responsive and unresponsive yoyo’s while I had the impression it’s only for unresponsive ones. They also sell dark matter lube, is that any good?

• The Arrow comes with a flat wide bearing for unresponsive play. Is it worthwile, now or in the future, to upgrade to a centre track bearing?

Love to hear from you guys.

3 Likes

if the YYF Arrow is the one you can get your hands on then go for it i do recommend the Replay though i hear it’s very good for the price the Arrow is about $15 and the Replay is about $16 so there isn’t a huge price gap and i think that is a good idea to set one up as responsive and one unresponsive i think that’ll do you good

2 Likes