Responsive options in 2023

Seems to be a fair amount of churn as far as yo-yo availability for the “boutique” brands. As of 2023 what are good responsive options that are regularly available? Im looking to upgrade from a yyf arrow and am considering the origen or the weekender. My only concern is these options seem pretty light and I like the heft of the arrow. What are other good options?

Budget: less is better but fine with more expensive options.

Added: Since I am a newbie I will say I have an unresponsive that Ive played around with, but don’t really love the playstyle at this moment in time.

2 Likes

The Duncan Freehand One is a well loved responsive that is readily available and weighs 66.41 grams.

5 Likes

I definitely plan to pick one of those up. Appreciate the callout!

1 Like

I didn’t think I’d like a light throw like the RBC or Weekender. I was so wrong. Not saying it’s right for you, just saying to not count them out over the weight.

As far as what you are asking for, the Confusion is a great budget metal with normal weight to it. If you are willing to use the BST, find a Respawn or a Moonshine. Those fit what you’re trying to find and have great response.

2 Likes

A heavy weekender you say? Look no further than the laid back swing nude trump. Rewind seems to still have them.

I’ll take a picture of my modern responsive case with what I got on hand for examples in the morning but honestly my weekender and rbc are my go to modern responsive followed by my polycarb ZGRT el mijo and my layer infinity Kasm. Actually the Kasm is fantastic cause it’s relatively cheap. Only issue you got to catch the drop when wayne does it cause they sell fast. Follow layer infinity on instagram it’s worth it trust me.

I finally got around to organizing my yo-yos a bit instead of just tossing them all in a drawer and boxes half hazardly.

Also the Origen is a great cheap available modern responsive. I wouldn’t ignore it as an option at its price point.

1 Like