Raise in CLYW's prices?

Has anyone else noticed the recent rise in CLYW prices?
I saw that the the was as high as as $175! :-
I mean I know that yoyos range in prices, but this isn’t like anything I’ve seen before.
I’m not sure whether or not this is CLYW/YYE, or just the Cliff itself.
Any input?

Recent? where have you been… they have been sticking to the yoyo crowd for sometime now. someone needs to tell Chris hes not in Japan.

the cliff cost 165 not 175 and that is what you pay for a good yoyo

One of the cliffs is $175, and recently they have been around $150 or so (and now even higher) as opposed to around $120.

I am relatively new to this whole yoyo thing, only getting into this in May of 2011.

I will say I have noticed that prior to 2012, CLYW’s topped out at $120. Now, there’s a lot of things I CAN say but won’t say. I’m going to stick with observations only:

With the release of the Chief, CLYW bumped their prices up to $135. There’s been some steady prices increases since then. The Canvas, AC, Puffin and Cliff, with special colorways fetching $10 to $15 more than the “not as special” colorways.

If you don’t mind me stating NEW prices I’ve spent:
Canvas, from CLYW: $150
AC: $165
Puffin: $155
Cliff: $165
Glacier Express: $155

Older items but also bought new from YYE:
Comback Ava: $120
Gnarwal:$119.99

It seems the trend is for the price to be going up with CLYW. A small part of the price jump is the use of the CBC Centertrac bearings and the pre-made SnowTires as well as more decorative art on the box or the new sleeves being used on the Puffin and the Cliff. However, this isn’t the majority of the price increases.

I don’t see the price rising from here. I think we’re going to see prices in the $135-165 range for the most part. I am positive we’ll see special colorways top out at $175.

2 Likes