Question on counterweight

I have a question you guys. I have a porykon Saturn counterweight that comes with two beads. I would like not know if I am supposed to use both beads or one and keep one as back up. Is there a “correct” way? Is it a matter of personal preference in regards to the weight of the counterweight?

I have been using it with one bead so far and I just saw on YouTube a setup with both beads on. (On an another counterweight but still).

Thanks!

1 Like

It doesn’t really matter. They’re marketed as adjusting the weight but also not really heavy enough to make a noticeable difference.

3 Likes

I always thought you were just supposed to use one bead, I’ll have to try it with two now!

2 Likes

Will try as well tomorrow on my day off.

2 Likes

So after 1 hour of play with 2 beads here are my results. (I am a noob in 5a so bare with me. I only know a couple of tricks). My general observation is that with the extra bead, the counterweight seems to be bit less responsive meaning more hesitant to start it’s trajectory. When you try to catch it it seems to be a bit more ‘dense’ on the catch. Please note that for 5A I am using a plastic fulvia (a relatively heavy yoyo at 67 grams), kitty string fat and porykon saturn counterweight.

Here goes nothing:

Double - triple trapeze release : not much of a difference. Might be my poor technique but I think the counterweight hits my hand slightly harder. (Might just be my idea though).

Double or nothing release - Switch trapeze and his brother release : Definitely a difference on the release part of the trick. The counterweight is more controllable. Noticeable difference on this one.

360 : There is a difference on this one as well. The yoyo seems a bit slower at the beginning of the trajectory. As if it were asleep for 0,1 sec and then Boom, it accelerates in a more sudden way than with 1 bead.

720 : More or less the same.