Prevent top from bouncing?

Is there some technique to help prevent top from bouncing?

I’m very new to tops. My throw is at best description Fair. I have about 70% to 80% success for the top landing on its tip and not tilted much. However, a high percentage of throws bounce 2 or 4 times and continue traveling away from me.
How can I help this problem?

Do you mean when the top lands it hits the deck and keeps bouncing?
If that is the case, I would guess it is not completely unwound. On a typical throw, when the top reaches the end of the string, it loses its fwd momentum and kind of stalls, just drops down. If it is still unwinding it might land with some force.

The top lands on its tip, bounces 2 to 4 times kinda skipping across the floor eventually stops bouncing and spins tilted.
Hard to say if the top is tilting as a result of my throw, or tilting because of the bouncing.

It sounds like maybe the body is hitting, not the tip. If it is consistently tilting the same direction, try compensating by releasing the top tilted to the opposite side, or experiment with the string length.

I’ve rectified this problem. I more closely examined my throw, and found my estimation of 70 to 80% was wrong. I was less than 50%.
Now I’m getting better spin without much tilt. My throw is well… best described as unique. But it’s working. If it’s working…well then it’s working.
Side note: I received my BC top 2 days ago, it’s turning out to be highly favored. Makes me what to add a wood lathe to my wood working shop.

Solid wood tops are not the easiest things to throw, they may have a tendency to bounce more than hollow tops, I don’t have a lot of experience throwing them.