One-Hand Bind, Is This Good Form? (Video)

Hello all, I just started playing with a yo-yo again a few weeks ago after years of hiatus. Anyway, after reading about how tricky the one-handed bind can be, it seems like it’s way too easy.

Basically, to bind the yo-yo I position my throw hand palm-up with the string resting across my index finger and use a short beckoning motion to pop the yo-yo upward, immediately rotating my wrist so the hand is palm-down which appears to send a single slack loop running down the string. Then, when I feel the yo-yo start to clutch, I pull slightly up to tension the string while the yo-yo returns.

Did I just get lucky and hit the right vibe for this “trick”, or am I using a method that’s going to bite me later when I incorporate it with actual tricks?

I’m having what I gauge is the average difficulty learning the basic side and front mounts, but this one-handed bind seemed to happen very easily compared to what I was expecting, which makes me a little suspicious that the method may be frowned upon for practical reasons that I don’t know about yet.

I’ve linked a short vid of the bind, pointers and criticism would be much appreciated!
On the other hand, if my technique is awesome and I happen to be a one-handed-bind savant, then glowing praise will be accepted too. :stuck_out_tongue:

Thanks,
Ivan

4 Likes

Not qualified to critique, but I like it and I’m going to see if I can do it.

1 Like

First of all, welcome back! Yoyoing is cool, and you are cool for yoyoing.

At first glance I thought the whipping motion looked far too small. The motion of the wrist should be larger and slower. This will create a larger loop in the string.

Looking at your video frame by frame, you can see a few wraps of string around the axle before the loop even reaches the yoyo. Watch the motion of the string; the loop isn’t causing the bind, but rather the yoyo is pulling the loop into the axle.