Newb help - Protostar slippy binding.

Hi all.

I’m kinda new to unresponsive play, and just got myself a yyf protostar. I can’t bind this thing for nuts, and before you all say “learn to do it properly” I’m not sure it’s completely my fault.

I’ve been playing with a yyf speedmaker, and even with the gap widened with shims, it binds fast and tight (too fast at times). This seems to be the speedmakers hybrid response.

The protostar however has cbc pads. They’re really slippery. Looking inside the yo they’re actually recessed into the gap (about 1mm) rather than flush. After playing a couple of days it’s starting to bind occasionally, but usually no matter how many loops of string i’ve got in there it won’t bite. I can wind the string up fully and yank the heck out of it and it still slides fairly easily around the yo, as if it’s never fully binding. On a hard throw it’ll slip and take the energy out of the throw.

I’ve heard cbc pads can be slippery but this seems rediculous. Is it possible that I’ve got dud pads?

My protostar was slippy too! Try to Gasket maker/Flowable silicone. YOu can find it in tubes in the auto section at wal-mart.

What you do after this, is let it dry for 2-5 hours, and then scrape the excess silicone off with an eraser, or finger.

1 Like

Hm… My pads are barely below flush level and yet I get a nice tight bind every time. It sounds like a pad problem. You could buy some new ones, and if they don’t work, I would suggest contacting YoyoFactory.

Use a thicker string.

I have a protostar also, and after change the response with flowable sili, i got thighter bind.

1 Like

The ProtoStar is really built to require a perfect bind.  It is a combination of having a very strong straight throw and also pulling up with the throw hand as you pull down with your non throwhand.  Again - really throw hard and snap that wrist - the faster the yo-yo is spinning the better it will return with a bind: