New Protostar won't bind!

I was hoping someone coudlhelp with this problem. I just got a new Protostar today and it won’t bind. As I am a newb I have been trying the very easy front and back binds and they don’t seem to be grabbing. Do some binds not work on some yoyos? is there a break in period before which Binds are tougher?

Let me know.

Thanks,

Tim

Nope, the Protostar is just picky when it comes to biting on a bind. Keep practicing on binds exclusively on the Protostar and just pay attention to what works for you every time you successfully bind and then just do that every time. It becomes really second nature after a little while.

1 Like

Yeah, From what I have heard, the YoYoFactory Protostar is more unresponsive than other yoyos. Just work on your binds and you should eventually be able to do a bind with the Protostar.

1 Like

Make sure you are doing the right bind for the way the yoyo is spinning. If you are doing a bind from a breakaway, for example, you have to do an undermount bind. Also make sure you are really flicking the loop into the gap, instead of just dropping the loop in.

1 Like

Just make sure that you don’t just let the loop fall you have to guide it backwards and then take your finger out. This is assuming you are doing a frontstyle bind and when I say guide it backwards I mean pull the loop in the gap and pull it towards you.

1 Like

Thanks for the advice guys. I will keep practicing and try your suggestions.

Tim

Pinching the loop will also help.

1 Like

Okay guys. I am having a new problem now. I can “usually” get it and my new Dark Magic II, to bind, but when I do I get the following problems:

1. I get a long “tail” from the loop that I drop into the gap. It does not sort of “suck into” the gap. It just hangs out of the gap a couple of inches.