New guy needs some assistance buying

Hi,

I am new to Yoyoing and from the UK and I am after some advice, please.

I bought a DM2 - didn’t know any better and its OK.
Then came the protostar - love it.

For Christmas I am after a good metal.

I am currently thinking CLYW - Chief / Puffin or a Superstar (like the look of the profile and its YYF).

Help (by the way i’m 35 and money is not a key driver here).

Cheers, Lee

Get a cheif or puffen, or any clyw!

Personally, I LOVE my g5. I’m sure you could find that elsewhere online.
But yeah, you can’t go wrong with any CLYW’s.

Anything from CLYW will be brilliant. The YYF Superstar (especially without the hubstacks), Genesis and Supernova are great bang for your buck. The Werrd Irony JP is a phenomenal throw at about CLYW prices. If you’ve got money to throw around, then any of the high end Japanese makers (Turning Point and YoyoRecreation especially) are absolutely amazing.

Really though, once you get into metals over $80, just about everything is going to be pretty good and it comes down to preference.

Yuki

The Chief is my favorite CLYW, haven’t tried a Puffin though. I would say get the Chief anyways. It’s just so… perfect lol.

Sorry for the double post but I need to correct something. lol

Except the Avant Garde 2. IMO, that plays like a $30 metal.

Anything CLYW is the way to go, except maybe for the Glacier Express, which is still great… just a different shape(like the AV2), Superstar isn’t a bad choice either. Also another great try would be One Drop Yo-Yos.

Buy a One Drop Cascade. It’s small in the hands for chopstick style tricks, but plenty wide for other string tricks. There are plenty of good colorways to choose from too.

YES!

Try the new yoyojam that just came out

So many good things to buy since money is no object.

Freq. Wave is $70, plays at Chief/AC prices with Chief-type performance. Another RecRev is the Facade. But the Chief and AC are really great and well worth it.