New DV888 too responsive

Preface: I’m new to yoyo’ing but have been at it for a few weeks. I can do quite a few tricks already on both my responsive and unresponsive yoyos. But again still new to it all so I don’t claim to know much.

Ok so my problem is I just got a new DV888 yesterday in the mail. (I’ve been kind of wanting to upgrade my responsive yoyo from my yyf one and yyf velocity.) I was super stoked when I got it but right out of the box I noticed the sleep time was horrible so I used some Rem oil (I read somewhere that was a good thin lube to use and it helped improve my other yoyos when they started to slow down). That seemed to help right away with the sleep time but this thing is it’s soooo touchy as far as response. I did notice the pads were a lot thicker than any other yoyo I have. Anyway it’s kind of annoying that anytime there is the slightest bit of slack it comes whipping back. I’ve taken a couple hard wacks with this thick metal yoyo and I’m starting to question wether I should have gotten at all. Or maybe I just suck that bad but I don’t have any of these probs with my velocity or my One.

Anyone else have the same issue with the new DV888’s?

Clean bearing

Brand new bearing. Clean as a whistle. Used Rem oil which is a “cleaning oil”. Even tried using the bearing out of my yyf one and it still acts the same.

Is it a thin bearing by any chance? I think most of the newer DV888s come with a thin bearing installed instead of the full sized C bearing they used to come with. Also, brand new bearings aren’t always completely clean. A lot of company’s ship yoyos with a bit too much oil already in the bearings, if that’s the problem, you ought to give it a soak in some mineral turp instead of adding more oil.

Edit: one other thing that could be causing the surprise knuckle busters are the super grippy pads. Give them a bit of time to break in.

Yuki

Clean bearing and do not oil etc.