Need some (general) recs

So I’m still fairly new to throwing, with only a Magicyoyo V3 and Crystal to my name. My wishlist is filled with a bunch of really great-looking throws, but in the end, I know little about how each shape, material, etc… play.

The overall style of play I seem to enjoy is slower, methodical, and very flowy 1A play. I’m not interested in speed or force, but in the natural progression of tricks and combos.

That being said, what type of throws should I be looking for? What shapes? What materials?

So far I’m tending to lean more toward visually appealing yo-yos, with my “Short” list containing:

• Prohibition Speakeasy
  • Thesis Aventus
  • iYoYo iCEBERG
  • GWAY Geedorah
  • Atmos Snowberry
  • Offset Deviant
  • Thesis Invictus
  • MikeMonty Mori
  • C3 Jenos
  • C3 Speedaholic XX

(I should mention there are already several strings I’m interested in, and am more sure about which ones to purchase and test than I am actual throws)

2 Likes

I have a Deviant and an Aventus and have an Iceberg arriving today. Aventus and Deviant are solid for sure. 2 of my favorites I reach for frequently. I also have 2 Invictus (per personal favorite aesthetically) and it is probably my favorite monometal but may be harder to get now that stocks are either sold out or limited in color selection everywhere I have looked. Definitely recommend matte vs the gloss for the Invictus, especially if you are into grinds at all. I struggle with those on the gloss one I have but they are a breeze on the matte finish. Might also check out the Thesis/2Sick paladin. I have one of those as well but it seems to want to play a little faster from what I can tell.

1 Like

If you’re into the visual aesthetic/colors I’d take a look at the monarch, definitely a bit bias but it has the coolest colorways available ATM and has a more relaxed pace that you’re looking for.

On your list I’d go with geedorah or speakeasy. Both great throws by amazing people.

3 Likes