Need Help

Hey!
I am really new to yoyoing. I keep trying to do the man on the trapeze and I have the breakaway part, but when I try to land it it never lands on the string. It does sometimes but they are mostly accidents. Do I just need more practice or am I doing something wrong.
thanks.

What yo-yo are you using? Is it a butterfly shape? I am assuming you are using the Maverick?

This trick is a very fundamental trick, try to make the trapeze as small as possible, this helps a lot, it is very difficult to land a massive trapeze. What I mean is try making your finger close to the yo-yo so it makes a tiny trapeze.

yes the Maverick. (Butterfly) I think the problem is I can never tell where to place my finger to make it small.

Two inches away from the yoyo is a great place to get started learning trapeze, just make sure you don’t make the trapeze too big.

Watch this video:

He tell’s a lot about the importance about the bigness of the trapeze.

1 Like

Thanks. I have watched it before but I will do everything right.

Okay so I am landing it quite a bit now after some practice with keeping my fingers about 2 inches from it but now when I land it, it turns sideways and falls off before I get a chance to dismount it. Am I still doing something wrong?
A.

Make sure you keep your strings straight. If it isn’t, the yo-yo will tilt. Also, learn how to throw better. It will take time, but with a better throw, the yo-yo will tilt less.

After a while you will get the hand of it, you may have to adjust the angle of your hands (how far they are away from your body) to make it not fall over. After a while it will become usual for you to do it without thinking. What side is it falling off? By doing a trapeze off of a breakaway if it is falling off of the front move your throw hand away your body, if it is falling of the back move your throw-hand towards your body, this should adjust the angle of the yo-yo making it straight again.

Hope this helps.

1 Like