Need help! Yoyo frequently doesnt spin straight

I am brand new to yoyos and tried to purchase all I would need to interchangeably use my unresponsive yoyo responsively as well, but ordered the wrong stuff. Yoyo tricks mentions double and triple looping the string to improve responsiveness, but in doing so my string is always to one side now… how can I get a bit of both worlds? I considered a seperate bearing using thick lube, but unsure if this is enough alone… i bought a 10 pack of kitty string FAT, and I accidently bought thin lube… any tips on how to get responsive play as I learn how to throw more straight? What im playing on is the new Silenus (PS I know my throw is part of it, but I swear that its off in some way) also when I try to learn to bind I notice that when I balance the yoyo on the string it also tries to do so while leaning to one side

1 Like

While the Silenus is a great unresponsive yo-yo designed for modern string tricks, I am unfamiliar with people trying to make it responsive. Even with triple-wrapping and thick lubing a standard C-sized bearing I do not know if that would be enough to overcome the wide 4.5mm gap width. The only real way to make the Silenus responsive is with a thinner axle, half spec bearing, thick lube, and grippy pads.

If you add that all up, you might as well get a responsive plastic like a Duncan Butterfly XT or YYF Spinstar and keep the Silenus as your unresponsive yo-yo. That way you save yourself the trouble of having to work on your yo-yo when you’re new and now you have both a great responsive and unresponsive.

The tilting from the yo-yo is because string is rubbing up against your response pads and causing it to tilt. That usually happens when your throw is either crooked or you have too much string in the gap (most likely from triple-wrapping the axle and then trying to do a subsequent bind). Practice and getting the muscle memory for the motions will usually solve most tilting issues over time.

1 Like