Need help with a few things

Hey all, So I am new to yo-yoing, my yoyo came in yesterday and it is already a blast … but a few things are annoying. I have a couple questions at the moment that I am hoping somebody can help me with.

The yoyo is a Protostar. The video I am referencing is this one (What I reference starts around 2:00): http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=VSac5Kda-eo&feature=player_detailpage#t=126s

1. When I throw my yoyo the sting doesn’t stay really straight and I see it rubbing against the plastic (sometimes barely, others alot), is it my throw or is something up?

2. I can’t figure out for the life of me how he is returning the yoyo in this video, mine just won’t do it. Isn’t unresponsive unresponsive? Is he doing some trick that he isn’t openly explaining or is the protostar just not capable of returning like that? I am just very confused and having to drop it down and do the bind that way seems silly when he is doing it those ways

3. What is a good spin time? My breakaways are weak right now, what time of spin time should I be aiming for in them for later when I start doing combos and stuff.

I think that is all of my questions right now, thanks in advance for any insight. Off to practice some more.

You can only do that dismount with a responsive yo-yo. All it is is taking your TH, guiding the string and wrapping it around you NTH finger (The one that has the loop around it.) once. Then, if you are right handed, you roll the yo-yo counter clockwise (which undoes the wrap you just put there) and then pop the yoyo up into the air. However, if you have an un-responsive yo-yo (I believe the Protostar is un-responsive.) The yo-yo won’t come back to your hand after you pop it up. Unless you do an assisted bind as shown here: (Hands down, my favorite bind) http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=FbrmqzOhOMg&feature=fvst