I am a beginner and i am using an un-responsive yo-yo. Is this right?

I started about a week ago, and i’m getting pretty good.

I have a Dark Magic II and i have changed the bearing to an un-responsive one.

I found the responsive bearing to last about 20secs spinning time, then gradually tilted and stopped.

Which is better to use?

Or does it need some lube?

Since you are a beginner, I would recommend working on your throw, and then im sure the spin times will be much longer. If you feel more comfortable with the unresponsive bearing, use that. But since you are a beginner I would recommend using the responsive bearing until you master binding. So basicly, keep using the responsive bearing until you know how to bind, and work on your throw and youll be fine. ! :smiley:

1 Like

I know how to bind, but i’m not sure how to finish off a trick :-/
Lets say i do a trapeze? Do i finish the trick off by swinging in off the string then letting it dangle in sleep, then bind?
Or bind when i have it in trapeze?

you can do it eather way u get a more smooth bind when you pop it off the string

Just swing it from the trick, continue the swing it into a back bind. Yeah, if you find yourself in a trapeze and want to finish it, just bind from there. There isn’t really a wrong or right way or a wrong time to bind, it’s all preference.

Make up your own tricks :smiley:

do whatever you want. yoyoing is about having fun and being creative. if you wanted, you could swing it over into a 1.5 trapeze mount (not the same as a 1.5), grind on your Throw hand for a sec, pop it into the air and it’d bind. (i highly doubt you can do this at this point, its just an example)

the only “right way” is the way you’re enjoying yourself, if you prefer unresponsive play, go for it and never look back.

I did the same, knowing that I’ll go back to responsive play eventually, which I recently did, but it was a choice, not an obligation