My First World Yo Yo Contest Experience (long post)

Hey everybody! So, I attended my first ever World Yo Yo Contest this past weekend, and I thought I’d write a review of the entire experience. First off, a little about me. I’m 33 years old, and I’ve been yoyoing since 1992 or 1993. I’m from Louisville, Kentucky originally, but I moved to Melbourne, Florida about 3 months ago. I’m almost completely self taught when it comes to the yo yo, because there was never really any yo yo community in Louisville. I have a few friends that I would yo yo with, but because of the lack of community support, I tended to get bored and stagnant with my progression, and would go for long periods without practicing. But, regardless of those lulls, I never stopped collecting and loving yo yo’s (I have several hundred). Since moving to Florida, I’ve had a lot more free time, and I’ve become really interested in the whole process again. I practice daily, and I’ve even convinced my girlfriend to start throwing, and she’s become pretty good already. Since I live an hour from Orlando, there was no way I was going to miss the contest this year. My friend Alex flew down from Kentucky to stay with me, and the 3 of us made our way to the contest.