My First Mod: "Bi-metallic" YYJ Journey (d42kn355 inspired)

Hey, everyone. I’m kind of new to the YoYoExpert forums (and yo-yoing in general). I just thought I’d share a mod I did for my YYJ Journey (I’ve got a few mid- to high-end yoyos, so I thought I could experiment with it).

First, I wanted to make it unresponsive, so I cleaned the bearing with mineral spirits. A local skill toy and board game store carried YYJ Silicone rings, so I cheated and bought those for $3. After doing these two things, the Journey was pretty unresponsive.

I was pretty content with this, but I wanted to make it heavier. Going off something user “d42kn355” did on here, I decided to add some metal washers to it. I removed the caps and got some washers from Home Depot. I glued them onto the yoyo with Loctite Super Glue gel (which is pretty strong, actually). Just a few minutes of waiting on each side, and it was done – a bi-metallic journey.

So, I got the weight I wanted. Unfortunately, it might’ve been too much. On the first throw, the slipknot on my finger tightened a bit. I don’t have a scale, but I’d say it’s maybe as heavy as 1.5-2 Dark Magics. Maybe. I’m not too great at estimating mass/weight. It does have vibe, but just a little bit more vibe than my Journey had before the mod anyway. I’m pretty happy with it, and I had fun. I could definitely get into doing minor mods like this. :slight_smile:

Looking ahead, I might have to sand down the metal washers somehow to kind of remove some of the weight. The washers kind of protrude beyond the outer edge of the rim by a millimeter (give or take), so some of that mass could be sanded off somehow. Also, I’ve gotta figure out a way to get rid of the leftover Loctite residue from around the washers.

2 dm2s? thats about 135 grams. i doubt thats right. well, thats an iteresting mod. i think the washers will fly off thought. even though its good super glue, it may still