Beginning a Dark Magic Modification- Help!

Hey guys. There’s one area of yoyoing that is not my strong suit- modding. Ask me anything else and you’ll probably get an answer but modding is a world unknown to me.

I have a Dark Magic (the first one). It was my first real yoyo, so as you can imagine, the metal rims on the thing are beat to crap dented 100% all the way around the metal rims.

Well when I was a noob, being the nooby person that I was I decided to sand down the rims after I had aquired more throws and started denting my yoyos less and less. Well alot of you know that when sanding you have to be careful not to leave the metal surface uneven or sand it unequally or the yoyo will get vibe. Stupidly, I did not research this before I did it. I sanded down the rims until most of the dents were gone and now there’s just a few indentations in the rims. (Also took the caps off btw)

Well, now its about two years later and I picked up my DM again and now I want to mod it. The rims actually lookk pretty good although I want it free of dents and it’s actually almost to that point after on-again off again sanding. I put in a Center-trac in the thing and thankfully it’s vibe free (as far as I can tell). The thing actually plays freakin good, not going to lie. I would like to completely mod it though.

Here’s what I know you can do- put in shims to widen the gap to make it less responsive, replace the o-ring with silicone, new bearing and sand and polish the rims. But I do have a few questions-

1. How could I further sand down the rims on the DM without giving it vibe?
  2. I’ve heard YYJ shims wear down or something like that. Is this true?
  3. I see all these beautiful stunning polish jobs and my sanding just doesn’t give it that look… Polishing: does this mean sanding it down or using a type of liquid cleaner to polish it? Or both?
  4. If it’s the liquid thing, how long approximately does it stay polished? What type should I use?