Loop 720 Yoyo Won't Sleep

I’m very new to this hobby, so I apologize if this question is dumb/obvious. I honestly didn’t really comprehend the concept of “sleeping” until today, and I only now realized that it’s something my yoyo hasn’t been doing, like, at all. I’ve already lubed the bearings with thick lube and even cleaned them, I doubt it has anything to do with my string being worn either since I’ve switched it out a few times. I can throw the yoyo and for the most part it responds fine (almost too well it seems…), but I can’t get it to sleep no matter how many tutorials I watch, and it’s starting to give me a serious headache. Is this yoyo just not meant to sleep or something? The string I use is 50% cotton 50% polyester, if that helps

3 Likes

Loop 720s are made for looping, so they are very responsive. Maybe try throwing it out a little farther and letting it swing back to your side.

1 Like

Do you know if the string is double wrapped or single wrapped? If it’s double wrapped, just take a wrap out and that would fix it. If it’s single wrapped and still not sleeping, maybe make sure that both spacers are still in there?

1 Like

Kkkk

the string is single wrapped, I just checked and both bearings are also still in the yoyo

Too much lube may be the problem. Lots of lube will kill sleep time.

3 Likes

I’m not really sure if the string I bought is considered to be thick or not, but I guess I’ll try to look into other types of strings if the issue persists (though I would rather it be more of a last resort)

I don’t believe I put too much lube in, but I’ll try to look into it just in case

So a couple of things.

First is that the loop 720 is a looper yoyo, it can sleep, but it’ll take a bit of practice since it naturally has a very tight gap and wants to grab onto the string so you can throw it back out again hence the loop part of the name.